Hall of Leaders - 2002

James Oglesby

Member Columbia Board of Education 1974-1994, President 1980-82.

President National School Boards Association 1989.

Initiated Columbia Career Awareness Related Experiences (CARE).

Guy Lanphere

Recognized by National Association of Partners in Education for leadership in business/education partnerships.

Role model and mentor as science ‘teacher’ in 5th-grade classes.

Served 12 years on PIE Steering Committee.

Dr. Wayne Walker

Former principal at Jefferson Junior High School, Oakland Junior High School, and Rock Bridge High School.

Selected as CPS Outstanding Administrator.

Recognized for professional leadership, and balancing vision with common sense in creating an innovative learning environment.

James Delbert

Initiated the first elementary library at a Columbia school at Lee Elementary.

An avid supporter of parent volunteer programs, school/parent communication, gifted education, and the International Reading Association.

Principal at Lee School 1964-68, Shepard Elementary School 1968-1990.

Selected as Outstanding Administrator 1988.

George Brooks

Science teacher and coach at Douglass High School and Jefferson Junior High.

Mentor and inspiration for student success.

Namesake for prestigious MU scholarship.

Horace Thomas (posthumous)

First general surgeon to serve Boone Hospital in Columbia, Missour, practiced general surgery 1947-1985.

Volunteer for Habitat for Humanity, Columbia Art League, Missouri Show-Me Games.

Recipient of University of Missouri Alumni Service Award.

J. Stephen and Susan Marshall Simon

President of ExxonMobil Refining & Supply Company.

Involved with Boy Scouts of America, United Way, and Salvation Army.

Member of US-China Business Council, Kellogg Advisory Board of Northwestern University, National Council for Minorities in Engineering.

Susan Stalcup Gray

Recipient Columbia Chamber of Commerce Athena and Citizen of the Year Awards.

Received Sam Walton Business Leader Award.

Chaired Chamber of Commerce, United Way, Daniel Boone Library Board.

© 2024 Columbia Public Schools Foundation