Hall of Leaders - 2006

Richard Mendenhall

Is the owner of ReMax Boone Realty in Columbia and Jefferson City.

Served as president of the National Association of Realtors, the largest professional trade association in the world and was recognized for his service to the real estate profession as Missouri Realtor of the Year.

Served as president of the Columbia Chamber of Commerce and president of the Regional Economic Development Commission.

Received the Athena Award of the Women’s Network of the Columbia Chamber of Commerce and the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award of the Great Rivers Council for his service to Boy Scouts.

Leo Lewis III

Is the Associate Athletic Director at the University of Minnesota.

Was a star football player at Hickman and the University of Missouri, going on to play for the St. Louis Cardinals professional football team, and the Minnesota Vikings.

Has received numerous athletic awards.

Established the Lewis Sports Foundation, a service organization dedicated to providing young people with the necessary life skills to be successful in education and sports.

Carolyn Cochran Clark

Became the first woman partner of Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCoy, a noted Wall Street law firm, in 1977 and has spent her entire career with the firm.

Was the first woman named president of the Harvard Law School Association.

Is or has been on the advisory boards of the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Central Park Conservancy, the Museum of Modern Art, and the New York Public Library.

Has been an Adjunct Professor at Columbia University, is a member of the American Law Institute, and a Regent and Fellow of The American College of Trust and Estate Counsel.

Jim Beasley

Is Senior Vice President of Willbros USA, Inc., managing pipeline projects around the world including a 220-mile crude oil and products system in Iran, a high-pressure water pipeline in Colorado, and a heated fuel oil system in Georgia.

Served on the Board of Directors of the MU Alumni Association.

Received the Missouri Honor Award from the College of Engineering and was in the first class of the MU Civil Engineering Academy of Distinguished Alumni.

Provided leadership for Boy Scouts of America activities, Goodwill Industries of Tulsa, Trout Unlimited, and a number of conservation organizations.

© 2024 Columbia Public Schools Foundation