Press Releases

Columbia Public Schools Foundation announces new officers

The Columbia Public Schools Foundation (CPSF) is pleased to announce its 2023 officers.

The 2023 CPSF Board of Directors officers are David Townsend, president; Lynn Barnett, vice president; Sally Silvers, secretary; Gale “Hap” Hairston, treasurer; and Cindy Mustard, past president.

Townsend will serve a two-year term as CPSF president. He is the president and CEO of Agents National Title Insurance. A Columbia native, Townsend graduated from Hickman High School. He holds a bachelor’s degree in political science and education from Drury University and a juris doctor degree from the University of Missouri.

Townsend joined the CPSF board in 2017 as a way to continue the legacy of his mother, Shirley Townsend, who was heavily involved with CPS. “CPSF is a vehicle by which we as a community can support and augment the educational opportunities of CPS students,” he said. “It is also a way to give the excellent staff of our public schools additional resources to work with students and help them achieve their educational goals.”

 The Columbia Public Schools Foundation is a private foundation established in 1996 by community volunteers dedicated to the enrichment of public education through community giving. The Foundation has funded projects in every school, allocating more than $1.6 million to enhance education in the Columbia Public Schools. CPSF has supported teachers and students for more than 26 years.

© 2024 Columbia Public Schools Foundation