Press Releases


(COLUMBIA, MO) – The Columbia Public Schools Foundation (CPSF) is pleased to announce its new board president and a new addition to its board of directors.

Lynn Barnett was installed as the CPSF board president at the Feb. 24, 2016 meeting. Barnett retired in 2009 after a 28-year career with the Columbia Public Schools, serving as an assistant superintendent for student services, secretary for the board of education, director of special education, and special education teacher. She has a bachelor’s degree in elementary and special education, a master’s degree in learning disabilities and a doctorate in education administration, all from the University of Missouri-Columbia.

Barnett also is a Columbia Public Schools alum, having attended Parkade Elementary School, Jefferson Junior High School, and Hickman High School. “My five daughters also attended and graduated from the Columbia Public Schools,” Barnett said. “I believe in the Columbia School District and hope to continue supporting the District through my work with the CPS Foundation.”

Barnett joins CPSF officers Sally Silvers, secretary, and Shatenita Horton, treasurer. Nyle Klinginsmith serves as past president.

Les Borgmeyer also joined the CPSF board. Borgmeyer is vice president of sales for the Columbia Daily Tribune.

The Columbia Public Schools Foundation is a private foundation established by community volunteers dedicated to the enrichment of public education through community giving. The Foundation has funded projects in every school, allocating more than $1 million to enhance education in the Columbia Public Schools.

© 2024 Columbia Public Schools Foundation