Hall of Leaders

Dr. O.V. Wheeler

Principal of Ridgeway Elementary School 1963-1991.

Developed and implemented an IGE magnet school program.

Selected Missouri’s Distinguished Principal of the Year in 1985.

Mauree Taliaferro

Served as CPS Coordinator of Libraries for 22 years.

Assisted in opening 16 elementary school libraries.

Original member of the Mark Twain Award Committee.

Conrad Stawski

Language Arts and Humanities teacher 1951-1983.

President Missouri Association of Teachers of Allied Arts and Humanities.

Received University of Missouri’s Citation of Merit for exemplary service to Missouri’s youth.

Dr. Eliot Battle

CPS Director of Guidance for 34 years.

Selected CPS Outstanding Administrator, 1995 Pioneer in Education Award.

Received 1999 Columbia Values Diversity Award.

Dr. Hugh Stephenson

Distinguished faculty member University of Missouri School of Medicine.

Medical researcher whose work led to the development of CPR.

In 1996 appointed to University of Missouri Board of Curators.

Dr. Fredrick Robbins

Received Nobel Prize in physiology and medicine.

Medical researcher whose work led to the Salk polio vaccine.

Faculty member of Harvard Medical School.

Phillip LaZebnik

Founded Harvard Premiere Society, a theater organization.

Writer/producer of over 20 musicals.

Television and film screenplay writer.

Charles Digges, Sr.

Pilot in World War II and Korean War.

President Rollins-Vandiver-Digges, Inc. Insurance Company.

Selected Outstanding Citizen of the Year 1985.

Shirley Townsend

Building volunteer at multiple schools for 20 years.

Designed and operated sports concession stand at Hickman High School.

Raymond Lewis

Member CPS Board of Education 1970–1986, president 1974-78.

Founded the Columbia Fund for Academic Excellence.

© 2024 Columbia Public Schools Foundation