Hall of Leaders

Shirley Beckett

Volunteers as reading coach and mentor at Shepard Elementary School.

Provides musical accompaniment at school assemblies.

Dr. Russell Thompson

Superintendent of Columbia Public Schools 1976-1994.

Selected twice as one of North America’s top 100 educators.

1988 Missouri’s first Superintendent of the Year.

Margaret Niemeyer

Principal Grant Elementary 1978 – 1989.

First Principal of Mill Creek Elementary School 1989.

CPS Outstanding Administrator 1989.

Constance Guy

CPS kindergarten teacher 1958-1985.

1985 CPS Outstanding Educator K – 3.

Instructional leader, colleague mentor, inspirational teacher.

Samuel M. Walton

Founded Wal-Mart retail stores in 1962.

1992 Recipient of the Medal of Freedom.

Listed in Fortune magazine as the richest man in America 1985-88.

James Lawrence “Bud” Walton

Co-founder of Wal-Mart.

Senior Vice-President of Wal-Mart retail stores.

World War II Navy bomber pilot.

Major benefactor of the University of Arkansas.

Robert (Bob) K. Pugh

Chief Executive Officer of MBS Textbook Exchange, Inc.

Former Columbia Mayor and Councilman.

1997 Recipient University of Missouri Outstanding Faculty and Alumni Award.

© 2024 Columbia Public Schools Foundation